The New Zealand Institute of Forestry (NZIF) presents two notable awards, namely the Kirk Horn Award and the Forester of the Year accolade.

Kirk Horn Award

The Kirk Horn Award celebrates exceptional contributions to New Zealand’s forestry sector and is bestowed biennially. Unlike traditional application processes, recipients are chosen by a committee comprising the NZIF President, the President of the Royal Society, and a Professor from the School of Forestry, or selected from past awardees, as determined by the Council.

Forester of the Year

The Forester of the Year Award honors individuals who have made remarkable contributions to the forestry industry within the past year. Open to nominated NZIF members of Ordinary status or higher, this award recognizes leadership, excellence, and personal integrity, exemplifying the core values of the forestry profession. Recipients receive a certificate and the prestigious Forester of the Year carving, held for one year.

The Prince of Wales Award for Sustainable Forestry

Additionally, the NZIF Foundation administers the Prince of Wales Award for Sustainable Forestry, recognizing the achievements of exceptional young forest professionals in Australia and New Zealand. This award aims to promote engagement in sustainable forest management principles, emphasizing policy, planning, and practice rooted in sound scientific stewardship of land. Awardees are committed to public outreach and knowledge exchange, advocating for the prudent utilization and conservation of forests and their ecosystems.